Home Page

Larchfield Primary and Nursery School

Our Children are central to all that we do.


Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.



Term Ends



Niki Alvarado


Head Teacher


Patricia Lattimer


Chair Of Governors (Co-opted)

Chair PPP

Julia Prince


Vice Chair of Governors (Co-opted)

Chair Standards

Nigel Smith


Local Authority

Chair Resources / PPP

Angela Baker


Co-opted (Staff)


Sam Gillespie


Parent Elected


Claire Kirton


Parent Elected


Kate Sheehan




Kelly Lewis


Staff Elected


Ian Lee

12.10.20 Co-opted Standards
Tony Hill 04.02.19 Co-opted Standards / PPP
Nicola Camano N/A Clerk to the Governors  

Resources Committee (Finance, Human, Buildings/Equipment)

Standards (Educational and other Achievement)

Pay and Performance Panel (PPP) (Confidential Personnel Matters)

All Governors attend the Full Governing Body Meetings (FGB)




Larchfield Primary and Nursery School is a Local Authority Maintained School. The Local Authority is the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead.


The Governing Body is the key strategic body of every school. It is responsible for the conduct of the school and must promote high standards of educational achievement.


Larchfield’s Governing Body was reconstituted in 2015 in accordance with the 2012 Constitution Regulations. As a result the Governing Body membership was reduced to eleven governors from five different categories as follows:


The Head Teacher by virtue of the role


Parent Governors (2) who are parents (or people with parental responsibility) of children in the school. Usually Parent Governors are elected by all the parents of children at the school, or, in certain circumstances can be appointed by the Governing Body.


Staff Governor (1) who is a member of the school’s employed staff and is elected by the employed staff of the school.


Local Authority Governor (1) who is nominated by the Local Authority but appointed by the Governing Body. No employed staff member can be the Local Authority Governor.


Co-opted Governors (6) who are appointed by the governing body because they have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.


Each year the Governing Body elects a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson from the eleven Governors.


There is a Clerk to the Governors. The Clerk is a paid post. Governors are unpaid.


In 2016 the Governing Body commissioned an audit of its governance from the local authority. As a result the Governing Body revised its committee structure. There are now two standing committees meeting at least three times each year. One committee (Resources) reviews and considers the school’s resources (human, financial and physical) and the other (Standards) reviews and considers the standards of the school’s educational and other achievements for pupils. All Governors meet together at least three times per year to review and consider all responsibilities. In addition, there is a panel of three governors who meet as required to deal with confidential matters of staff pay and performance. The Head Teacher sits on all the above groups.